Just Call Me A Masochist

The first marathon and last race I competed in was over 5 years ago.  I ran the San Diego Rock N Roll Marathon which was, from what I remember, exhausting yet exhilarating.  Leading up to the race I ran several smaller races, 5k’s, 10k’s, half marathons to get in shape and prepare myself for the competition atmosphere.  The main reason for wanting to run a marathon was to do something I’d never done, challenge myself and get in shape in the process.  Years later I find myself with the same general focus, but a desire to mix it up.  I entered the 2013 Neusiok Trail Run- 21.5 miles (there’s also a 43 mile and 100k run), not quite a marathon, but enough distance feel every muscle aching for a massage.  You know how misery loves company?  When I asked my husband Oscar to join me he replied, “sure, I’ll do the 100k”.  Nobody loves a show off.

I’m looking forward to the race, just over 3 months, and I have much training to do.  Aside from following a marathon training schedule I’m incorporating swimming, kayaking, lifting, biking and of course trail work.  I enjoy challenging myself, setting goals, and pushing myself.  The race is in January which is a great way to start off the year.

For more info on the race details, here’s the link

http://www.neusioktrailrun.com/Welcome.html

Sabrina

